Motörhead "Heroes" (David Bowie Cover)


Motörhead to release Under Cöver in September 2017
Covers compilation to include new version of David Bowie’s “Heroes”, (above)

ONE THING Lemmy Kilmister, Phil Campbell and Mikkey Dee liked to do over their years together in Motörhead, was grab a favourite song by another artist and give it a good old fashioned ‘Motörheading’. To run them through the Motörizer if you will. To rock them, roll them and even give them an extra twist and edge.

In celebration of some of those finest moments, the band will release Under Cöver, a collection of some of their best covers, and a collection which will include the previously unreleased version of David Bowie’s timeless classic “Heroes”. Recorded during the Bad Magic sessions in 2015 by Cameron Webb, and was one of the last songs the band recorded together.
“It’s such a great Bowie song, one of his best, and I could only see great things coming out of it from us, and so it proved to be,” says Phil Campbell, “and Lemmy ended up loving our version.”
“He was very, very proud of it,” says Mikkey Dee, “not only because it turned out so well but because it was fun! Which is what projects like this should be – fun!”

To that ethic, the rest of the album contains loud and proud, raucous and raging Rock ‘N’ Roll takes on the likes of “God Save The Queen” (Sex Pistols), “Cat Scratch Fever” (Ted Nugent), “Rockaway Beach,” (The Ramones), Breaking The Law” (Judas Priest) and “Whiplash” (Metallica) which earned the band a Grammy in 2005 for Best Metal Performance.
“We were happy with them at the time and we’re happy with them now!” affirms Campbell, whilst Dee says, “We should remember that it’s about having some fun with songs that we all loved.”

So there you are. If that doesn’t have you scrambling for your music delivery device, then check your pulse pronto. Or just start scrambling for a copy of Under Cöver immediately. You won’t be sorry.


1. Breaking the Law (Produced by Cameron Webb) 2008
2. God Save the Queen (Produced by Bob Kulick and Bruce Bouillet) 2000
3. Heroes (Produced by Cameron Webb) 2015
4. Starstruck (Produced by Cameron Webb) 2014
5. Cat Scratch Fever (Produced by Peter Solley) 1992
6. Jumpin’ Jack Flash (Produced by Bob Kulick and Bruce Bouillet) 2001
7. Sympathy for the Devil (Produced by Cameron Webb) 2015
8. Hellraiser (Produced by Billy Sherwood) 1992
9. Rockaway Beach (Mixed by Cameron Webb) 2002
10.Shoot ‘Em Down (Produced by Bob Kulick and Bruce Bouillet) 2001
11. Whiplash (Produced by Bruce Bouillet and Bob Kulick) 2005

All songs performed by Motörhead

Lemmy Kilmister – Bass/Vocals
Phil Campbell – Guitar
Mikkey Dee – Drums



  1. Acabo de escuchar la versión de Depeche Mode, de los que soy seguidores, y tengo que volver a esta para sentirme vivo, permitaseme la paradoja. Olé vuestros huevos si señor!!!

  2. Jesusssss H Christ, they totally ruined the music essence of the song, they slowly slaughtered it right to the end, Motors version should have been to totally opt out of playing a song they were obviously not capable of playing right, Sounded like it was coming from a crypt six feet below, whats with the goiders on Lemmy's faces, couldn't he find a groupie drugged out enough to gnaw them off, had he done so, the cancer might not have gotten him.

  3. A world without either Lemmy or Bowie is a much less interesting world indeed …
    Why do I get the feeling that Jesus is walking around with ear plugs in ever since Lemmy arrived?

  4. Makes me both sad and happy. I grew up with Prince, Bowie, Lemmy, and the one man who taught at least 95% of guitar players how to play rhythm, Malcolm Young. Sad that they're gone, happy that I could grow up with and enjoy them all. 🙌

  5. This is true music . . not like tyhos shiet justin biber or beyonce or i don't even know shietload of crap.

    There only kind of good music, classical ( bach, chopin, beethoven, ect . . ) blues and every type of rock .


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here